I Believe in Angels

Today, my family lost a wonderful grandpa, father, and great-grandpa. We were all so sad to receive the news of Grandpa’s stroke over the weekend. He hung on like a trooper until early this morning.

My grandpa joined the group of angels watching over my sister this morning for her breast cancer surgery. After my Grandpa passed on, my cousin Emily’s words were, “Well… Amy’s got her angel.” And she is so right.

I was blessed with the best grandparents in the whole wide world. Both of my grandfathers are the most impressive men I have ever known. My Grandpa, alongside his father, built the house in which they still live today, with his bare hands. I still remember how great of a hide-and-seek game my cousins and I could play in that Ohio house.

Grandpa’s other claim to fame? At my brother’s graduation from the Naval Academy, Grandpa taught me to not be ticklish. I can still remember the mantra he had me recite as he jabbed at my ribs… “I’m not ticklish. I’m not ticklish.”

And to this day, I’m not ticklish. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks, Grandpa.

Visiting Grandma and Grandpa in Ohio was always so much fun. Since they had four kids, I was blessed with a number of awesome cousins to play with. Grandpa would always say my cousin Emily and I were racing in our rapidly changing heights, and we’d have a measurement each time we saw one another (Em, who even ended up winning that race?).

Grandpa left behind some really strong, loving, lanky kids. He was such a great Grandpa and an awesome buddy when you wanted some lengthy stories or someone to play with. I probably owe all of my waterskiing skills to that guy, and I’ll bet he’s building a firepit or fixing up a boat in heaven right now.

Grandpa and Grandma’s four kiddos – my daddy’s on the right. ๐Ÿ˜‰

But, most importantly, I’m thinking Grandpa and my Mamoe are up there together watching over Amy for her big, important day. I’ll really miss my Grandpa, and I’m missing my Mamoe every day, but I know they’re gonna make sure that, soon,ย every little thing’s gonna be alright.

two of the greatest grandparents ever, our power-team of angels.

36 responses to “I Believe in Angels

  1. So sorry for your loss. you are in my prayers!

  2. so sorry for your loss dear. your gpa seems like a wonderful man.

  3. i love you girl so much. Im so sorry about your grandpa but he is singing and dancing with the angels right now in Heaven- having a blast! im sending DOUBLE love today for you and your fam for ur gpa and sis!

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ This is such a beautiful tribute to an obviously wonderful man.

  5. Keeping you and your family in prayers. I lost both of my grandfathers but am lucky enough to still have my grandmothers… I will take solace someday in the thought of them being reunited.

  6. Alyssa I’m so sorry to hear that. This post is a wonderful tribute to your grandpa. Good luck to your sister. Lots of prayers!!

  7. oh my gosh I just got goosebumps when I read “Wellโ€ฆ Amyโ€™s got her angel.โ€
    Sending so much love to your family today and praying for your sister girl! Stay strong through this difficult time– everything will get brighter ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

  8. lots of love alyssa xxx

  9. I’m so sorry for your loss Alyssa. He’s in a better place now

  10. You are in prayers Alyssa. I hope everything gets better soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. This post is so BEAUTIFUL! I am so sorry for your loss, but you are so right, and I bet your Gpa is having an awesome time right now! He’s with Jesus so really he couldn’t BE in a better place ๐Ÿ™‚

    HUGE hugs and prayers for you girl!! Love you SO MUCH and I’m praying for you and your family and your sister! *HUGS AND LOVE*

    P.S. One of my fave Bible verses: “For He will give His angels charge of you to guard you in all your ways. ” ~ Psalm 91:11 โค

  12. Aww, what a sweet post! I am so sorry for your loss! I’m glad your sister has another angel watching over her though! I’ll be praying for you and your family!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. sorry to hear about your grandpa! but you have a great attitude about it… and i hope all went well with your sister’s surgery

  14. he seems like such an amazing beautiful person!
    I’m so sorry for your loss but i’m sure hes looking down smiling! Praying for you all and I hope everything goes well with the surgery!

  15. I’ve been thinking about you and your family all morning.

    Reading this, my heart is so heavy for you all. Your family is so strong, and has bonds that will never be broken!!

    Hugs, love, prayers, thoughts, for you and your family during this tough time.

  16. oatsandspice

    Alyssa, you and your family are in my prayers! I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your grandpa – I am sure his legacy will live on! I will also be praying that your sister had a successful surgery today – what a stressful and hectic time for your family – cheer up girly… things will get better! Much love!

  17. runyogarepeat

    Keeping you in my prayers & hope your sister’s surgery goes well! This is such a beautiful post too, and I’m sure the angels will help.

  18. What An amazing post. Prayers sent your way.your grandparents were so cute ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Amy @ countrystrong21

    Sorry for your loss. Your entire family is in my thoughts and prayers as your sister is recovering from her surgery and going through this difficult time of losing a loved one.

  20. So sorry for your loss, girl. I know this feeling all too well.

  21. They would be so very proud of you. How lucky they were blessed with you.Love you.

  22. So sorry for your loss doll. Bet they are hanging out with my granparents too =) B/c they all rock like that!

  23. I’m so sorry for your loss, my sweet blend! You and your family are in my prayers!

  24. I’m so sorry for you loss. He seems like a wonderful man!

  25. sorry about your loss friend. I just recently loss my nana. although, it is a peaceful feeling knowing that they lived a great life!

  26. A long life. What a blessing. He’s left such a beautiful legacy in you. I love you, Loo! My heart and prayers are with you and your family.

  27. Prayers and hugs girl.
    I am glad you believe.

  28. Oh hon :((( It is the anniversary of my Grandpa’s death almost to the day. I hope your sister is doing well, and please tell her that my Mom would be more than happy to talk to her about treatment and be a friend to her โค I am so so sorry about your grandpa! Please give my love to your family, especially your Grandmother. There is nothing harder than losing your life partner. I love you babydoll, if you ever want to talk or Skype I am here for you!!! โค xoxox

  29. He is always with you love! What a wonderful man, Jesus is lucky to have him as an angel now.

    Love you so much!

  30. So sorry for your loss! This was a beautiful post though–thank you for sharing your wonderful grandpa with us all…reminded me of my own grandparents ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. My heart sank when I first saw this. I immediately thought, “Can someone please cut the Halters a freakin’ break?!” With your sister and now this, I can only imagine how tough things seem right now. I’m praying for you and your family. But you’re so right – your sister has a wonderful team of angels watching over her. I guess that’s part of His whole plan, huh?

  32. I’m so sorry for your loss. I lost my grandma last week and it is still really hard for me.. He lived a great life though it looks like.
    Love you! *HUGS* My thoughts are with you and your family.
    โค

  33. Pingback: THAT’S How Maryland Does. | Life of bLyss

  34. Pingback: Running Anxiety | Life of bLyss

Your comments make me smile. Thiiiiiis big.

