“KEEN-WA?”

I may have hit up Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago on my way home from work.

There may have been a cheap wine purchase involved.

Does it make it okay if I bought other things, too?

spanish wine is good wine.

And, because Carrie’s vegan guest post made me curious…

it never hurts to try new things.

Trader Joes domination

Okay, Okay. Should I be embarrassed that for a really, really long time (okay, my whole life up until I bought this package about a month ago) I’ve always said “Kin-oh-wa?”

I have yet to try this baby. I think I was too put off by the fact that I’ve been saying it wrong for so long.

So, if you’ve got some genius “KEEN-WA” recipes, hit me with ’em.‘Cause if I’ve got a good plan up my sleeve, I’ll get some motivation to try it out on my own.

and I bought these guys, too. cause I love them.

And just WAIT till you hear my exciting Chobani news. In short, the company is awesome, and I finally have the opportunity to try the elusive lemon flavored Greek yogurt. Ah yeah! A full update is soon to come…

It’s a rain boots day.

I finally put my Sperry rain boots to good use in the dreary Virginia Beach weather today. Although I was excited to utilize these babies, I’m not thanking Mother Nature for the pouring rain. I was supposed to do a nice outdoor run with my buddy Robby today. And finally purchase new running shoes.

I swear I’m not joking when I say every time I’ve planned to go get the darned shoes something happens beyond my control to nix the plans. It’ll happen… eventually.

In the world of bLyss Designs

I love when a brand new design is requested for me to paint. Jenna, my little-sister-that-I-never-had, asked me to make this beaut for her friend Jess’ birthday.

peace signs!

I’m currently working on some Ohio State Nursing glasses, a “camping” glass (thanks, Whitney, for giving me a serious challenge) ;), a Ravens glass, and an Animal Nurse glass.

DIY Hair Help Needed

I get by with a little help from my friends.

There’s a gift I was not blessed with.

It’s the gift of hair styling.

As evidenced by my numerous pictures with my hair down, and the fact that whenever I’m getting fancy I have a friend tackle my locks (like in the picture of Jen doing my hair above), I’m pretty challenged when it comes to fancy shmancy hair. And, since I’m attending a formal this weekend, I need some nice tips.

getting my hair to do THIS is a feat.

I own rollers, but my hair doesn’t hold a curl. I’ve got a lotta hair, so putting everything up with bobby pins will take a while, but it’s doable. I want some ideas from you guys that will look nice with this dress.

…’Cause I may resort to just wearing it down and straight. šŸ˜‰

Repping Catawba

How FUN is this? One of my best friends from college, Dana, is now an admissions counselor for our alma mater. She sent this little jitty to me last week to show me I’m on a “Campus to Campus Day” brochure.

hey, that's me!

Dear Alyssa, go get lessons on how to “cheese” in a socially acceptable manner.

I guess they liked it because I look SO HAPPY to be a Catawba student. šŸ˜‰

Got any Quinoa recipes? Give ’em to me!

Got some hair tips? I want those, too!

Ever been in a publication for your school? It took 5 years, but I got in!

39 responses to ““KEEN-WA?”

  1. ahh its a rain day here too! at least you still look cute in those wellies!

    YOU ARE IN LUCK! i did a staple sunday on quinoa a while back:
    http://movesnmunchies.wordpress.com/2011/03/13/staple-sunday-6/

  2. Make it with some dark kidney beans and red onions on top of spinach as a protein that stands alone! It’s great!

    You used to always make fun of me for the things I ate, and now look at you! Eating everything I’ve been eating for years :). Glad you finally caught on!

  3. Hahaha I pronounced quinoa wrong until someone CORRECTED me at a grocery store. Umm hello humbling.

    I haven’t *tried* it yet because I am still on a gigantic oat bran kick BUT I’ve seen a lot of people making Greek yogurt breakfast bowls with quinoa instead of granola or oats. I can’t remember where I’ve seen it but it seemed pretty popular!

  4. I love quinoa! I’ve made it with curry seasoning and it tastes amazing šŸ™‚ I’ve seen a lot of ppl use it as a substitute for oatmeal but I’ve never tried it sweet before šŸ˜€

  5. Oh my God, I said quinoa wrong for the LONGEST time. I felt like such an idiot when someone actually said it correctly to me. That was embarrassing.

  6. Yay for cheap wine AND Trader Joe’s =) I like to use quinoa in cold salads (chopped veggies, vinegar, raisins, goat cheese…)

  7. Make one of my quinoa-hummus-raisin-balsamic bowls!:) Slash you are gorgggg and so is that dress! I seriously cannot wait for my first college formal…and sorority mixer:) I am so excited to pledge in the fall but semi scared that I might die. Hahaha kaybye love you

  8. You got some sweet eats at TJ’s!!!! You will LOVE the lemon Chobani!!!

  9. That dress is gorgeous! It would look good with your hair either down or up šŸ™‚
    And that glass is toooo cute for words, I wanttt one! he he

  10. Ali, do you like curry? I have a GREAT recipe for chicken veggie (rice) or quinoa curry salad. It is wonderful if you like curry! šŸ™‚ If you get the red quinoa make sure you rinse it before you eat it!

  11. hey you!
    when I ate meat, I used to always make quinoa (and I always called it que-noah, and still do haha) with spinach, ground turkey, and low fat mozzarella and some parm cheese. sauteed with olive oil and salt and pepper, and it was so good!!

  12. It’s perfectly okay- I know how quinoa is sposed to pronounced, but my head still says it your way! šŸ˜›

    Mama Pea has some KEEN-WAH recipes that I love, like Zucchini Quinoa Lasagna and Quinoa Stuffed Peppers. http://peasandthankyou.com/recipeas/meatfreemainmeals/

    And WHY are you so darn gorg?! I WANT your face and your beautiful hair!! And that dress too…you are gonna look SO stunning in it!! šŸ˜€

    P.S. To keep in curls when I curl my hair, I use a TON of hairspray. Works like a charm šŸ™‚

  13. I used to pronounce it wrong too!! I just found out the real pronunciation a couple months ago šŸ™‚ I love adding quinoa to veggie bowls!

  14. I used to paint glasses like that in high school- it’s so fun!

  15. Hahah I called it Kin-oh-wa too! Then I felt silly when i found out it was wrong. Sometimes I still pronounce it that way šŸ˜›

  16. Try this for your hair — super easy and looks really classy and stays all day!

    http://shannalikebanana.wordpress.com/2011/03/03/what-i-wore-and-how-i-blog/

  17. Hehe that’s so funny you posted that about your face on your school brochure. My little brother and I just went to an alumni gathering for out high school and we ended up in the alumni newsletter they sent out. Yeah, you can have my autograph Alyssa cause I’m famous and all. I guess I should get yours too. šŸ˜‰
    xoxo
    Cat

  18. I make them with some cranberries or raisins, feta, and different spices sometime if i want like a pasta salad type thing goin on other than that i just make it in place of brown rice in wraps and veggie bowls!
    ps- I love love love the glass!!!!

  19. I made a quinoa stuffed pepper in this post: http://getalivingsense.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/an-asian-salad-and-a-stuffed-pepper-walk-into-a-bar/
    Not too exciting, but it’s something! šŸ™‚

  20. Cool looking wine glass – design is sweet!

  21. Jess loves her wine glass!

  22. I am embarrassed to say that I have never known how to pronounce quinoa either! šŸ™‚

  23. Do you ever curl with a straightener? I do Courtney’s every time I see her and it turns out PERFECTLY. My hair never holds a curl unless I use my straightener!

  24. I used to say Quonia the same way omg! Ha. Um if you find any good recipes please shout them out because that is all I eat on campus but I make them make it for me obviously.

  25. Don’t worry, I said quinoa wrong for the longest time! LOL! I am a straighten and go kind of girl, so I can’t help you there…sorry! And yes, I was in my school’s publication. They interviewed me for a Women MBAs feature. šŸ™‚ GIRLS RULE!!!

  26. you mean to tell me I’ve been saying it wrong in my head, too?!?! this is just like the lululemon fiasco. it will always be kin-oh-ah and lulu-mon to me. LOL. I actually just bought some for the first time last week, too! re-using your comment suggestions as we speak šŸ˜‰

    -courtney

  27. Amy @ countrystrong21

    I just found your blog today and I’m hooked! I spent my day reading it rather than doing homework, whoops!

    I’ve never had quinoa but I too have always thought it was pronounced the incorrect way so thanks for sharing the correct pronunciation with the blogging world šŸ™‚

    Looking forward to reading your blog!

  28. l have had a stash of quinoa in my pantry for fooo ever!! I need to look at Carrie’s SS again!!

    You look super cute on a rainy day! It’s been raining here a ton and taking me down with it! šŸ˜¦ ahaha.

    That IS SO COOL you are in your college’s publication! Super jealous! I better be in my colleges someday! šŸ˜‰ FRONT cover baby!!

  29. Haha pork balloon wine.. šŸ™‚
    I often just use quinoa instead of rice with stews or stomething like that – I just boil it with a little vegetable stock cube. Quinoa is great in veggie soups too!
    I am so hair-ifically challenged too (yours looks so amazingly thick and nice though)!! Cannot seem to be able to straighten my hair properly, and if I do it rains on it and it is back to square 1…

  30. There are so many things you can do0 with quinoa it’s so versatile. You can use it instead of regular oats, in a pilaf you can even bake with it!!

  31. gotta love the cheap wine, its always good at TJs! And as or quinoa, we love it in our house. I use in Chili’s and for a good oatmeal substitute.

  32. goodbyestudentlifestyle

    LOVE that dress!! I think you should try and attempt this Jessica Alba oscars 2008 hair do, google it!
    I’m also embarassed to admit that I haven’t had any Quinoa…

  33. HAIR. I LOVE IT. It’s mah thing.
    Remember how I did my hair for homecoming?
    (Look at my past FBook profile pics – http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=685257985563&set=a.805856405363.2410744.22223400&theater). It looks fancy, but it was super easy…and you’ll look like a movie star.

    1: PUT HAIR IN ROLLERS…&you have a choice…
    CHOICE A: You can use hot rollers the day-of. If you do, wash it, towel it try, and put some gel in it. Then blow-dry upside down. When 100% dry, part on your side of choice & put in hot rollers while maintaining part (biggest ones on top and closest to your face, rolling away from face). Leave them in as long as possible. Hit them with cool air from a fan/blow-dryer before you take them out (as hair sets when it cools).
    CHOICE B: You can also use foam rollers & sleep in them the night before. In this case, shower, wash hair, towel try, put product in, then air-dry. When almost 100% dry but still slightly damp, roll ’em up (maintaining side-part), blow dry with hot air & go ta bed. Unroll before event.
    2: STYLE ‘DEM CURLZ
    Take out the rollers and DO NOT RAKE/SHAKE. You’re gonna look like Shirley Temple, embrace it, it makes elegant movie-star-rolls so much easier. Start at the top of your head and roll under, going around the side of your head towards the back. Secure temporarily (It helps to have a friend or biiiiig toothy-gripper) . Do the same on the other side and meet in side-pony at the side of the dress that doesn’t have the strap. Secure with hair-tie. Do that thing where you wrap hair around hair-tie if you wanna. Take bobby bins & secure under rolls of you want to.

    TA-DAAA! Elegant and not hard at all, it just involves prepwork.

    I might make a video (for the 1st time ever) & show you what I mean because I just proofread this and it sounds REALLY confusing…

  34. I love your rainboots! I just bought new ones too and looks like WI weather will allow me lots of opportunities to wear them as well.
    Chobani is the best food ever. The pomegranate & pineapple are for sure my favorites

  35. Whoa- a Ravens glass?! I want to see it when you are done!!!! I might have to order some šŸ™‚
    & I really want that wine bottle..because it has a pig on it- lol! I’m obsessed!

Your comments make me smile. Thiiiiiis big.

