Race Prep

The Yuengling Shamrock Half Marathon: two days away!

it's the final countdown!

It seems like I have some certain traditions when it comes to race preparation.

My race prep consists of:

1. Copious amounts of pasta the night before

pre-race pasta party

2. Juuust a little bit of wine. I mean, it never hurt anybody, right? Just a little bit. It just goes so well with pasta… (this is an accidental pre-race tradition)

3. Playlist Assembly. I’m picky about my race music, and I make a new pump-upΒ playlist before every race. And I start every race with the same song. Because it worked for my first half marathon, and it really gets my adrenaline pumping.

start your engines!

MVPs of Sunday’s playlist?
Runaway Baby – Bruno Mars
Blow – Ke$ha
Love Like Woe – The Ready Set
What the Hell – Avril Lavigne
Tell Me What To Do – Metro Station
Sleazy – Ke$ha
Uncharted – Sara Bareilles
To The Beat of Our Noisy Hearts – Matt Nathanson
Till The World Ends – Britney

…and that’s just off the top of my head. This is gonna be a good one. πŸ˜‰

4. Early to bed! duh.. up that early in the morning calls for some serious shuteye for this girl.

5. A pre-race banana and bagel thin/english muffin. Like I said before, it’s worked in the past, it’ll work now.

apparently, it works for John too (and he'll be running on Sunday as well!)

6. Lots of love from my running twin and all the the usual suspects.

A Team!

 

Robby’s not running the actual half with us, but he’s gonna join in for the last three miles.

and he'll probably eat a cupcake before the race again.

And then, when we’re done, we’re going to do a lot of this:

green beer for Shamrock? say yes?

Because, let’s be honest, why else would we pay to run 13.1 miles?

Creamy Spinach Pasta

And to go along with the race prep theme, I’ll share my most recent creamy pasta recipe. I won’t be indulging in this pre-race (I tend to stick with traditional pasta sauce when I’m getting serious), but I’m a big fan of creamy pasta.

And it’s even better when it’s lowfat, right? πŸ˜‰

getcha veggies and dairy with those carbs!

Sautee the following together on low heat:

– a big dollop of fat free cream cheese
– 1/2 cup (ish? I don’t measure) lowfat milk (I used Vanilla Light Silk)
– onion, diced
– green pepper, diced
– a big handful spinach
– garlic salt
*optional: roasted red pepper flakes
*optional: sliver of goat cheese

I also added some Garlic Italian salt-free seasoning and roasted red pepper flakes. I like a little spice in everything. πŸ˜‰

Add to your drained pasta.

This is where I decided I didn’t make enough sauce. SO… what did I add?

a sliver of this guy!

Then I threw it all in the microwave for a minute, mixed it together, added some pepper, and it was perfect.

deeelicious and creamy.

Are you a traditional pasta girl? Or do you like your creamy pastas and alfredos?

Hit me with your pre-race prep routine. I wanna hear it!

 

31 responses to “Race Prep

  1. that looks SUPER yummy! i love your post girl with all your great tips! so glad i came across your blog πŸ™‚ can’t wait to catch up with everything else! have a wonderful weekend!

  2. I am so jealous right now. I absolutely love the half marathon distance, but can’t race any because that would be against ncaa rules haha. 😦 That’s what I’m really excited for after college, racing road races again!! LOVE them!

  3. Ee good luck! I love pasta, but I’m more of a traditional girl:)

  4. YAY good luck!! You’re an AMAZING runner so you will totally ROCK IT!!

    And we totally have the same pre-race traditions!! Pasta banana on toast is the way to GO!! πŸ˜€

  5. Uh, that pasta looks SO GOOD. And creamy. Big plus. πŸ˜‰
    Good luck on the race! Drink a beer for all of us not running… um.. or just get your fill, cause you’ll feel like shit if you drink for all of us.

  6. Good luck girl, you are gonna rock it! That pasta looks delish and I’m loving your playlist. I do most of the same things as you pre-race, I also always charge my ipod and garmin the night before.

  7. Good luck!! With a pre-race routine like that, how could you not kick ass? πŸ˜‰ Looking forward to the recap!

  8. I love your playlist! I’ve needed some new music so I may be stealing some of those songs πŸ˜‰

  9. ALMOST GAMEEEEEEETIMEEEEEEEEEEEEE! may i add one more tradition? — “receive and abide by anastasia’s incessant demands to hydrate the day before.” πŸ˜‰ SEE YOU SOON.

  10. Woooohooo good luck!!! This is exciting!! πŸ™‚

    I don’t run (like, ever) BUT my pre-heavy-leg-day routine involves a banana!!! It’s my lucky food πŸ˜‰ Good thing it’s got lots of potassium!!

    Thanks for your comment on my post! It’s nice to know I’m not alone.

  11. What a great playlist! That would totally get me pumped! And I love pasta anyway that it comes! I love alfredo and I love it with tomato sauce too πŸ˜€

  12. Okay I totally needed a new play list and I’m so glad you posted one! I think I have been listening to the same set of songs for about 4 months now. I love traditional marinara sauce but lately I have been liking the creamy dreamy stuff! πŸ™‚

  13. If it’s pasta I’ll eat it! Doesn’t matter what it’s topped with.

  14. ima need these tips for my race!! altho in oct ima need to prep! ive only ever done a 5k πŸ˜€

  15. Good luck! Your playlist is gonna carry you through this because it sounds great. I’m rocking the Britney on my running music lately too!

  16. Love your playlist! Peanut butter bagels and Smart Water are my morning of routines. And I always run in my team scrunchie from high school. I’m weird like that I guess πŸ™‚

  17. That pasta looks delish! Can’t wait to hear how your run goes! πŸ™‚

  18. Is it okay to say that I like pasta in any form? I’ve actually never had goat cheese but your pasta looks fabulous! Can’t wait to read the race recap=)

  19. just found your blog and im lovin it! πŸ™‚

  20. Hey little lady-send me an email with your address-you won my granola giveaway

  21. Shweeet playlist!! I’m usually more traditional when it comes to pasta but this looks soo good!!

  22. Love these pre-race traditions! And your creamy spinach pasta looks divine. The only thing I swear by before races is getting a good night’s sleep – all the rest doesn’t matter for my body, but the sleep is a must. πŸ™‚ Hope the race was fun!

  23. i hope youre kicking butt right now!!!!!

  24. I always pair spinach with my cheesy pastas! =) pesto too! yum! Love your pre-race traditions and play list!!!! =)

    I hate kesha… but ohmygooood her songs! PERFECT for working out and dancing! =) i guess I love AND hate her? hehe

  25. Good luck girl!! You are going to kick (or probs did kick!) major bootay! Love you!!

  26. Pingback: “Run Today, Brag Forever.” | Life of bLyss

  27. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Your comments make me smile. Thiiiiiis big.

