I don’t know why

1. I don’t know why sparkles make me so happy. I’m obsessed. It’s why Ke$ha and I should be best friends. My dream office would have glitter on the floor.

And the wall.

And the ceiling.

Case in point: These are my favorite flats:

sparkleesss!

My favorite headbands (from BIC):

moooore sparkles!

AND, my favorite swimmy, worn as I drove the boat on Memorial Day:

moremoremore sparkles!

And I really, really, really, REALLY want Carrie Underwood’s top from her AI performance last week. I think I texted 6 people telling them how bad I want need it. Off the shoulder AND sparkles? It’s got mah name on it.

“Carbear, If Alyssa was here, she’d snatch that sparkly top right off yo back.”
(source)

2. I don’t know why I need chapstick. All the time. But I do. Especially after I brush my teeth. If I forget some when I go out, I need to stop at a drug store. It’s bad. Chapstickers Anonymous, anyone?

3. I still get uncomfortable when I’m around someone using a Bluetooth. I don’t know why. I still always think the dude is a few fries short of a Happy Meal and try to not stare.

…And then I see the Bluetooth, and I get weird about hearing his half of his conversation.

Sorry to the vending machine guy in the faculty lounge today if I gave you a weird look.

4. I have a Pinterest addiction. But I DO know why. It’s awesome. Go do it.. it’s like a virtual bulletin board, it’s handy for creative ideas, and it’s so, so addicting. Go sign up now, and don’t forget to add me. Jenn‘s my Pinterest BFF. Just ask her.

I don’t know why I’m having such a hard time finding a cute gym bag for a reasonable price. I want

5. I don’t know why I’ve never tried to make my own balls before.

You heard me.

Becauuuuse, after trying the “fitbite” balls Lori sent me (raw, vegan, protein-packed, gluten free, dairy free, AND refined sugar free!), I’m positive she’s a real smartypants. My favorite were the apricot nut balls. I even crushed one up and put it in a yogurt bowl. Yesss.

Thank you again, Lori!

6. I don’t know why I haven’t opened up my latenight bakery/ice cream shop yet. Think about it. How many times did you want froyo in a BAD way around 11:30 p.m.? Nobody’s ever open past 10… those jerks.

I think I’ve found a gap in the business. And I’ll be more than happy to fill it. Who’s gonna be my sponsor? :-D I promise to have the most toppings of any place you’ve ever seen before.

7. I have no idea why I still let my dad pull me on a tube behind his boat after what happened to me as a child.

There we are, Jenna.. matching pigtails as usual.

You see… I may have gotten my braces ripped out of my mouth as a 12-year-old. Here I am, happily smiling and laughing as I get whipped around Lake Ariel (we used to own a house in the Pocono mountains in Pennsylvania), and the tube strap flipped up, hitched onto my braces, and ripped the wire and about 87% of the brackets out of the top of my mouth.

Ow.

My dad spent a good half hour trying to cut the rest of the wire out with his wire-cutters. That felt awesome.

I practice smiling with my mouth shut for my 7th grade picture. That looked awesome.

But, here I am, on Memorial Day, at 23 years old, allowing good ol’ Daddy-o pull me on the tube.


Some people never learn.

38 responses to “I don’t know why

  1. Our favorite yogurt place in Pittsburgh is open till 11 every night of the week! It’s great!

  2. Hi, I think we’re long lost twins.

    Can we go on a tube ride to the mall and buy EVERYTHING with sparkles? Mostly shoes and dresses? Yea. K good.

    Love you!

  3. IM SO WITH U ON THE CHAPSTICK, SPARKLES AND BALLS! i love balls!
    woah there..
    omg that did not happen with ur braces!!! OW is an understatement!

  4. Ok Aly. I also share a love for everything that sparkles, so you are not alone. Those flats are soo cute! And ouch, hearing your story about your braces being ripped out made my teeth hurt.

  5. I am the same. Way. I always have to have freaking chapstick or I have to buy some!!! Slash you are GORGEOUS I love that we are sparkle queen twins <33

  6. Ohh how I love tubing… Those regular tubes are NOTHING compared to those kite tubes!!! Before they got banned I had a reallllly bad fall from like 10 feet in the air and thought I was going to die.

    I like sparkles too :)

  7. I go through so much Chapstick that I wish I knew how to make my own (hm…DIY project?) ..mine always loves to run away!

    OUCH = your braces story. I didn’t even know that could happen!

  8. I want those headbands. We cannot hang out or I will personally steal them. I’m sorry but that is the way it is ha.

    But on a side note. Email me, I’m pretty busy this weekend but not next weekend. We can go on a running date, or go out to eat, or well whatever you want! anywho just pop me an email lolzthatswim@gmail.com.

  9. SPARKLES are wonderful. That’s a super hot bikini. Where’d you find that one!? :)

  10. I want Carrie underwoods top too! Unfortunately they custom made it just for her :( I love me some sparkles and I want to open up a late night fro yo shop with you we can call it lysi’s!

    • I LOVE that idea. and I love that you’re also guilty of looking up her shirt and learning it was sadly made by her designer for her. waaah!

  11. Love the tube pics
    XO

  12. Ooo I need those headbands!! Sparkles always make it better. You should totally open a late night bake shop/fro yo store. We have a cookie shop in Ann Arbor called Insomnia Cookie that is open until 3 AM and they make deliveries! Cookies and milk brought right to your door! :)

  13. Those are the cutest flats I’ve ever seen!! where did you get them?

  14. AHHH BEST POST EVER!! I am obsessed with sparkles too and I lOVE your swim suit. Also, I go through so much chapstick it is disgusting ha, I am so so addicted. Can we go into business together and open up the bakery/ice cream late night shop..that sounds like heaven to me!

  15. You are too cute! If you love sparkles, you should check out the dress katy widrick wore at Fitbloggin– in this post: http://www.lessbrittmorelife.com/2011/05/fitbloggin-recap/

  16. girl i’m so with you on them sparkles! so much fun :)))

    also i’m so in on your bakery/froyo place. screw college, i’ll bake cookies. ;)
    <3
    n

  17. I LOVE YOUR SUIT and I really really want you to be my personal stylist! I’ll pay you in balls ;)

  18. you should really make your own balls ;) bahahaha! Can I borrow your flats?

    you’re so fabulous!

  19. youre adorable in all your glitter. ANd i hear ya about the bluetooth. Creeps me out. Enjoy the balls. hehe.

  20. Why didn’t we take pictures of your mouth? That would have been a great addition to today’s blog.

  21. Oh my God, I love Carrie Underwood – but I’d knock her out to steal that top in a heartbeat. Too much?

  22. Your sparkly shoes are adorable!! And sexy bathing suit girl, I didn’t drive a boat for MDW but I was on one :P

  23. I could do without Carrie Underwood’s top–but dang…her legs, I’d take those!

  24. freak accident, i have NEVER EVER heard of something like that happening!!
    Please tell Carrie to get me one toooo!!

  25. I run for my chapstick as soon as I’m done brushing my teeth. I feel naked without it! :)

  26. Oh my gosh! My teeth hurt so bad, I forgot what I was going to say!

    Ok, had to look back through the post…I am seriously addicted to chapstick! I have tubes of it hidden everywhere and yet I STILL find myself without it far too often! Like I just bought one on Friday and now I can’t find it!

    Pinterest…yes…addicted…very much! Gah!

    Must have late night fro-yo! Genius!!

  27. My mouth just cringed when I read the braces story.. oh em geeeeee OW! I would be your #1 customer [from WI of course] if you opened up a late-night froyo shop!

  28. You got your braces ripped out?!?! Whattttt? I seriously was like covering my mouth because it sounded so horrible- lol!
    & I’m SO WITH YOU about the Blue Tooth thing, it creeps me out too! I always think they are some psycho! haha! :D

Your comments make me smile. Thiiiiiis big.

