Before We Raced…

I know you’re all waiting for a race recap from the Williamsburg Half Marathon from yesterday. But since our fun run was captured on Anastasia’s camera, the real thang will be posted tomorrow.

Thankfully, I took some photos of our weekend pre-race. So you get to see those activities today. :)

We headed to Williamsburg for the whole weekend since Busch Gardens tickets came with our race bibs (seriously, in this race, we probably got the most we’ve ever gotten for our money).

Early Saturday morning, Anastasia, Rob, and I took a little trek from our (ghettt-tttooo) hotel to the Race Expo.

warming up those legs!

After grabbing our bibs (I was lucky #219), we grabbed some treats along with our T-shirts at the Expo.

Sidenote: We are so glad we checked at the Expo if there would be energy gels given on the race. Since there was no Gu provided, we each bought one of our own to take down around mile 6.

Sidenote 2: I HATED the cherry chocolate Cliff Turbo Energy Gel I snagged. I’m a serious chocoholic, but downing the stuff with almost 7 miles remaining made me feel really sick. I’m sticking to my favorite apple flavor from here on out.

It looked so promising… blech.

Of COURSE, this was the first half marathon we’ve run without our own spectators/cheerleaders. And at the Expo, they had a sign-making station.

Uh, we made our own anyway… obviously. Who do you think I am?

Go A-Team.

Since I was running this injured (and not allowed to “race” it, just “run” it, according to my physical therapist) and Anastasia was sick, we were making this a “Fun Run.” Our slogan was “Destined for Greatness. But we’re pacing ourselves.”

I included this on the sign. Just so everyone knew.

Anastasia wanted Robby to make her a sign.

And… remember a few weeks ago when I bought new Asics because I desperately needed them but HATED how they looked? At the Expo, I FOUND MY PERFECT PAIR OF ASICS AND I WANTED TO BUY THEM IMMEDIATELY.

cue the choir of angels.

But they didn’t have my size.


I pouted.

After the Expo, we bopped over to Busch Gardens to take full advantage of our free passes.

Since we’re 9 years old and all, we were pretty psyched.

“roller coasters, yippeeee!”

We used our $15 meal vouchers, we hit up a water ride, and we stood in line for almost an hour for one coaster, Alpengheist. We didn’t want to tire out our legs too too much before the race.

Rob also got in trouble for taking his shirt off.

Twice.


And again…

We’re nine years old.

Maybe seven.

After Busch Gardens and some showers, we went on a hunt for a nice pasta dinner full of lots and lots of carbs. I told Rob I was down for anywhere I’d be provided with garlic knots.

Caaauusssee… who doesn’t love some garlic knots?

I think we found the knots.

I’ve always said one think I miss about living up north is the food. The south simply cannot replicate Jersey’s Italian food.

No one does Italian like New Jersey does Italian.

(source)

Not quite what I had in mind.

…but THIS is. This was my pre-race dinner, and it was moneeeyyy. Proving that Williamsburg, Virginia can do Italiano. ;)

The restaurant was called Maurizio’s… and we’ve got big plans to return and completely stuff ourselves silly. I can honestly say this place served up the best Italian food I’ve had in years.

We may or may not have gone as far as to get some Dairy Queen for dessert.

But if we did, I got my fave… a mini chocolate double oreo blizzard. :-D


Whoops?

Look how genuinely happy ice cream makes us. I’d say it was the pre-race prep of champions.

Needless to say, after a busy day, we crashed after laying out our outfits and creating some awesome playlists for the next day.

Race recap to come tomorrow.. and just you wait. I ran with Anastasia’s camera. ;) And three different people spotted me because they recognized these shorts. ;)

Do you have a least-favorite energy gel flavor? Which one really gets ya goin’?

Which restaurant have you been to lately that made you want to high-five the owners like we did?

21 responses to “Before We Raced…

  1. Bistro19 in Pittsburgh – everything I’ve ever ordered there has been amazing. Writing a post on it later this week. Can’t wait to hear about the race! :)

  2. I kinda wish I had went to BG on Saturday! I went after the half and was dyinggg! Too many hills.

    Chocolate GU all the way. Gu brand. Tastes like frosting. Their Mint Chocolate is good too. Like a peppermint pattie! I cannot stand any fruity flavored gels. So so gross. I had strawberry banana and lemon lime once and almost vommed mid run.

    We went to Francesco’s in Williamsburg before the race. Their chocolate lava cake is so good.

  3. yay! i can’t believe all that came WITH the race! can’t wait to see your fun run pictures. : )

  4. WOAH this race sounds AMAZING!! Can’t believe you got free passes!! Best race EVER!! :D

    And blech every gel I’ve tried I’ve HATED! I’d much rather eat candy ;)

  5. runyogarepeat

    Wait, free amusement park tickets too? So awesome! I didn’t mind the mint chocolate gu, but I definitely prefer energy chews (honey stinger brand, pomegranate I think it is?). Chewing is kinda weird while running, but it’s only for a minute or so.

  6. Mariah@Apples"N"Oats

    i love how relaxed your pre-race day was….totally my style!! I tried banana flavor one time and almost gagged. Oh and I’m envious of your garlic knots and blizzard:)

  7. Love all your pre race pics! I haven’t been to Busch Gardens in years, I miss it :( So many fun roller coasters. And those garlic knots look incredible, yum! :D

  8. OMG OMG OMG. CHOCOLATE CHERRY IS MY FAVORITE.

    We ran still be racing twinnies though. I’m glad you did well and had so much fun prerace. We need to run together very soon! :)

  9. I WOULD LOVE to seriously just spend a day in ur life– but WITH u.. does that make sense? BUSCH GARDENS!! never been but if it involves roller coasters im SO IN!!!!!!!!!

  10. That sounds like a perfect day right there! Except the roller coasters, I don’t do those nor the gel, how could something chocolate cherry flavored by bad??

    All about those garlic knots!

  11. Girl! next time I’m driving up to VA and coming with! =) I want to run my first race so flipping badly and there haven’t been any since I moved to nowhere’sville NC! bah! I should have stayed in FL! <3

    anywho! you have my tummy rumbling looking at that magical pasta dish and those baller garlic knots so i'm gonna peace out before I actaully drool ;) love ya like woah! mwah!

  12. You are so cute! There’s this Vegan restaurant in Tucson that I absolutely LOVED. During my last visit before I moved, I gave the owner a hug! :) I miss that place SO MUCH…

  13. Alyssa, I love that you have fun like a little kid – you and I would be such good friends in real life, haha! And other than not finding your size of the perfect shoe, it looks like you guys had a great time pre-race! :)

  14. My cousins live in Williamsburg so we go about once a year to visit! How awesome that you got Busch Garden tickets with your bib! That’s pretty awesome!!

  15. Pingback: We Ran for the Dream: Williamsburg Half Marathon Race Recap | Life of bLyss

  16. The pre-race dinner looks supaaa legit! There’s no where better to let loose and maybe regress a few years than in an amusement park, roller coasters = love!

  17. Amy @ countrystrong21

    No favorite engergy gel flavors for me…don’t use the things and have never even tried them.

    Hmm the last place I went out to eat at was Red Lobster. Those cheddar bay biscuts are amazeballs! It’s currently festival of shrimp too so I had the awesomesauce garlic shrimp scampi. I’m drooling just thinking about it now!

  18. Pingback: This Is How Awesome I am. | Life of bLyss

  19. Link exchange is nothing else except it is just placing the other person’s weblog link on your
    page at suitable place and other person will also do similar in support of
    you.

Your comments make me smile. Thiiiiiis big.

